top of page

Learn More About the Kootenay-Columbia Riding

Population (in 2011): 107,589

Electors (2019): 91,652

Area (km²): 64,336

Pop. density (per km²)1.7

Census subdivisions: Cranbrook, Revelstoke, Kimberley, East Kootenay C, Creston, Central Kootenay B, Fernie, Golden, Sparwood, Columbia-Shuswap A, Nelson.


Kootenay—Columbia is a federal electoral district in British Columbia, Canada, that has been represented in the House of Commons of Canada since 1997.

This district was created in 1996 from parts of Kootenay East and Kootenay West—Revelstoke ridings.

It was amended in 2003 to include a small part of Kootenay—Boundary—Okanagan.

The 2012 federal electoral boundaries redistribution concluded that the electoral boundaries of Kootenay—Columbia should be adjusted, and a modified electoral district of the same name will be contested in future elections.

The redefined Kootenay—Columbia gained the communities of Nelson, Salmo and Kaslo and their respective surrounding areas from the current electoral district of British Columbia Southern Interior, while losing Nakusp and area to the new district of South Okanagan—West Kootenay and Needles and area to the new district of North Okanagan—Shuswap.

These new boundaries were legally defined in the 2013 representation order, which came into effect upon the call of the 42nd Canadian federal election, scheduled for October 2015.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page